Malaria

Malaria is mainly a subtropical and tropical infectious disease that is brought to Germany by travelers who visit far-away countries. Typically, these cases are the acute form of malaria tropica. If diagnosed early, it can be treated with success. However, if left untreated, it can lead to death.

At a glance

  • The cause of malaria is a single-cell parasite that is transmitted to people through the bite of the Anopheles mosquito.
  • There are four types of malaria; malaria tropica is the most dangerous.
  • Children under 5 years old and older people, as well as pregnant women, are at a particular risk.
  • People who travel to areas where malaria is found should take sufficient precautions to protect themselves.
  • No fully protective vaccine is available at this time.

Note: The information in this article cannot and should not replace a medical consultation and must not be used for self-diagnosis or treatment.

Malaria: malaria mosquito (Anopheles) sitting on a blade of grass.

What is malaria?

Malaria is one of the most significant infectious diseases. The cause is a single-cell parasite known as plasmodium, which is transmitted by the Anopheles mosquito.

Malaria is found in almost all tropical and subtropical regions, meaning in very warm regions near the equator, as well as in the warm temperate zones between approximately 25- and 40-degree northern and southern latitudes. The disease is found in approximately 100 countries and on all continents except for Australia.

The different types of malaria progress at different levels of severity, whereby each variation is caused by its own plasmodium type. Malaria tropica is the most dangerous type of malaria. If left untreated, it almost always leads to death in European travelers. Therefore, the malaria prophylaxis (preventative prophylactic measures) is particularly important prior to a visit in a risk region for malaria.

What are infectious diseases?

The video below looks at when doctors talk about an infectious disease, which pathogens trigger infectious diseases, and how they are transmitted.

This and other videos can also be found on YouTube

Watch now

The privacy policy indicated there applies.

What are the symptoms of malaria?

Malaria starts with symptoms such as fever, headaches, aching limbs, diarrhea, and a general feeling of illness. Often, these symptoms are misinterpreted as the flu or a gastrointestinal infection.

The symptoms of these various types of malaria differ mainly in how the fever progresses over time.

Malaria tropica

The amount of time from infection to the onset of symptoms (incubation period) for malaria tropica is typically 7 to 28 days, and in rare cases, up to approx. 120 days. In immigrants from regions at risk, who were often infected by malaria during their childhood and therefore have acquired partial immunity, malaria tropica can appear even years after initial infection.

Approximately three-fourths of malaria cases in Germany are malaria tropica. It is the most dangerous form of malaria and almost always leads to death in those who are not immune. Travelers from Germany are typically not immune from an acute form of malaria. The fever that occurs does not follow the fever pattern of other types of malaria.

Malaria tertiana

Malaria tertiana is rather mild and harmless. A typical symptom is a cyclic fever that spikes and then goes back down, appearing every third day. This is the reason it is called “tertiana”.

Malaria quartana

Malaria quartana is less common than other types of malaria. With this type of malaria, the fever appears every 4 days. “Quartana” basically means 4-day ague.

Knowlesi malaria

This type of malaria is found only in Southeast Asia. Knowlesi malaria can be just as acute as malaria tropica.

Important: People who spend time in a region with malaria should see a doctor if they experience any type of fever, whether irregular or periodic.

What causes malaria?

Malaria is caused by a single-cell parasite of the plasmodia genus. Various plasmodia types are responsible for the forms of malaria. The single-cell parasite is transmitted through the bite of the female Anopheles mosquito. The pathogen of malaria tertiana settles in the liver and can lie dormant for months or years, before an outbreak of the illness with symptoms occurs.

Transmission from person to person is only possible through blood and occurs very seldom.

What are the risk factors for malaria?

Generally speaking, travelers from countries like Germany in which Malaria only exists as a disease brought back from travels belong to the at-risk group. These people are typically not immune to acute forms of malaria.

Pregnant women

Pregnant women should not travel to regions with malaria, because administering a malaria prophylaxis (medical prophylaxis) is very difficult during pregnancy. There is no certainty that taking medication will not affect the development of the child. Malaria during pregnancy puts the mother and child at risk in various ways.

Children

Approximately two-thirds of malaria deaths worldwide are children under the age of 5 living in the endemic disease regions.

How common is malaria?

Malaria is very common in certain risk regions; in Germany, the illness appears only in those who have returned from travels, generally speaking.

Malaria worldwide

Malaria is one of the most significant infectious diseases worldwide. It is found in tropical and subtropical regions on all continents, except for Australia – in approx. 100 countries. Around 40 percent of the world’s population lives in a malaria-endemic region. These are regions in which malaria is found continuously and frequently. In endemic regions, approximately 220 million people each year become ill.

400,000 people die every year from malaria, predominantly in Africa, Asia and South America.

Approximately 400,000 people die each year of malaria worldwide; about two-thirds of them are children under the age of 5. Malaria is found in over 90 percent of countries in Africa; malaria cases in Asia and South America have declined significantly in recent years. In the last few years, individual cases of malaria tertiana have been found in southern Europe, such as Spain and Greece.

Germany

Patients from Germany typically become infected when visiting a region at risk. In recent years, approximately 800 to 1,000 cases of malaria have been recorded in this country. Boys and men were infected twice as often as girls and women. Often, cases of malaria appear in immigrants who live in Germany and return to the country of their birth for vacation, for example.

Most cases of malaria are brought in from African countries. A significant number of cases appear after traveling to West African countries and Kenya. India and Pakistan are the most notable countries with infections outside of Africa.

“Airport malaria”

An extremely rare form of malaria found outside of the region where it is spread is known as airport malaria. It is transmitted by imported mosquitoes, either in an airplane, at an airport, or in their immediate surroundings. Baggage malaria is when mosquitoes are imported in the suitcase of an airplane passenger.

How does malaria progress?

The various types of malaria progress in very different ways.

Progression depends mainly on:

  • if the patient has already had malaria once or more than once and was able to build up a certain amount of immunity.
  • the type of malaria.

Malaria tropica

Malaria tropica is by far the most dangerous form of malaria. Common initial symptoms are lassitude, headaches and aching limbs, as well as irregular feverish temperatures. Diarrhea is also a common symptom.

Numerous complications can arise:

  • infection of the brain (cerebral malaria): typical symptoms are seizures and clouding of consciousness or even a coma
  • acute kidney failure
  • damage to the lungs
  • enlargement of the spleen (approx. 26 percent)
  • enlargement of the liver (approx. 14 percent)
  • circulatory collapse
  • red blood cell deficiency
  • blood clotting in the blood vessels followed by internal bleeding

Malaria tertiana

Malaria tertiana is rather mild. A typical symptom is a cyclic fever that spikes and then goes down, appearing every third day. The person experiences chills, during which the fever spikes quickly to 40°C. After 3 or 4 hours of fever, the body’s temperature falls abruptly to a normal temperature but with profuse sweating.

Malaria quartana

Malaria quartana is less common than the other types of malaria. A typical symptom is a fever that occurs every 4 days. Relapses can occur up to 40 years after the initial infection.

Knowlesi malaria

Typical symptoms are bouts of fever. Knowlesi malaria can also be acute, similar to malaria tropica.

How can malaria be prevented?

Since there is no vaccination for malaria, other types of preventative measures are very important. Those who plan to spend time in a region with malaria must speak with a doctor about the necessary preventative measures (individual prophylaxis) before leaving. They include protection from mosquitoes and medication (chemoprophylaxis).

Malaria can be prevented by various measures: sleeping under a mosquito net, wearing long-sleeved, bright clothing, taking preventive medication and mosquito-repellent spray or cream.

Mosquito repellent

The Anopheles mosquito is active a dusk. The following protective measures are recommended for those traveling to a region with malaria:

  • Stay in rooms that keep mosquitoes out and have air conditioning and insect screens whenever possible.
  • Sleep under a mosquito net, preferably one that has been treated with substances to kill insects if possible.
  • When outside, wear clothing that has also been treated with substances that kill insects: long-sleeve shirts, long pants, and socks that are light in color. Dark colors attract mosquitoes.
  • Use anti-mosquito spray and creme.

Medication prophylaxis (chemoprophylaxis)

Speak to a doctor about which medication is most suitable. Medication is typically taken shortly before departure; it must be taken throughout the stay in the region with malaria and after returning home.

The following generally applies:

  • A chemoprophylaxis is generally recommended for trips to countries with a high transmission potential.
  • A chemoprophylaxis is generally not needed for trips to countries with a low or medium risk of malaria. It can be helpful to take along medication for self-treatment in an emergency.

If a chemoprophylaxis is not taken, a provisional medication should be packed for the trip. It can be taken if malaria-like symptoms appear and it is not possible to see a doctor. However, this is only an emergency measure until a doctor can be reached. Whether and which provisional medication should be brought along must be discussed with a doctor when planning the trip.

Details about selecting a medication and doses for adults and children can be found in the electronic document: Malariaprophylaxe – Empfehlungen des Ständigen Ausschusses Reisemedizin (StAR) der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Tropenmedizin und Internationale Gesundheit e.V. – DTG (Antimalarial Prophylaxis – Recommendations of the Standing Committee for Travel Medicine of the German Society for Tropical Medicine and Global Health).

How is malaria diagnosed?

If malaria is suspected, diagnostic tests must be started immediately to determine if the blood contains plasmodia. The type of plasmodia should be determined as early on as possible to

  • determine the type of malaria, and
  • make decisions about the next steps in treatment.

A blood sample is needed for diagnosis. The parasites causing the infection are identified using a microscope that examines the blood. This requires a lot of expertise, which means a medical specialist or tropical medicine institute must be consulted.

A list of tropical medicine institutions in Germany can be found on the German Society for Tropical Medicine and Global Health (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Tropenmedizin und Globale Gesundheit e.V.) website.

How is malaria treated?

The type of malaria a person has determines how it is treated. Treatment for malaria tropica should be done at a hospital, and if possible, at one with tropical medicine experience and an intensive care ward.

Malaria tropica and Knowlesi malaria

Treatment depends on

  • the level of severity of the infection, and
  • any antimalarial prophylaxis that may have been taken prior to infection.

If the case of malaria tropica or Knowlesi malaria in question is uncomplicated and the patient has no life-threatening symptoms, medication with two compatible active ingredients is used to treat the patient.

If the case of malaria tropica or Knowlesi malaria is complicated and life-threatening symptoms are present, such as clouding of consciousness or difficulty breathing, the patient must be treated in an intensive care ward.

Malaria tertiana

Malaria tertiana is mainly treated with the same medication used for malaria tropica. To prevent a relapse, a second medication must be taken after the initial treatment. 

Malaria quartana

The medication chloroquine is used to treat this type of malaria.

Reviewed by the German Society for Tropical Medicine, Travel Medicine and Global Health (DTG). As at:

Did you find this article helpful?

Malaria

Malaria ist eine hauptsächlich subtropische und tropische Infektionskrankheit, die von Fernreisenden nach Deutschland gebracht werden kann. Meist handelt es sich um die schwere Verlaufsform Malaria tropica. Diese ist bei rechtzeitiger Diagnose gut behandelbar, kann unbehandelt aber zum Tod führen.

Auf einen Blick

  • Auslöser einer Malaria-Erkrankung ist ein einzelliger Parasit, der durch den Stich der Anopheles-Mücke auf Menschen übertragen wird.
  • Es gibt 4 Malaria-Verlaufsformen: Die Malaria tropica ist die gefährlichste.
  • Besonders gefährdet sind Kinder unter 5 Jahren und ältere Menschen, auch Schwangere.
  • Personen, die in Malaria-Gebiete reisen, sollten sich durch geeignete Maßnahmen schützen.
  • Aktuell steht noch kein ganzheitlich schützender Impfstoff zur Verfügung.

Hinweis: Die Informationen dieses Artikels können und sollen einen Arztbesuch nicht ersetzen und dürfen nicht zur Selbstdiagnostik oder -behandlung verwendet werden.

Malaria: Eine Malariamücke (Anopheles) sitzt auf einem Grashalm.

Was ist Malaria?

Malaria ist eine der bedeutendsten Infektionskrankheiten. Ursache sind einzellige Parasiten: sogenannte Plasmodien, die von der Anopheles-Stechmücke übertragen werden.

Malaria ist in fast allen tropischen und subtropischen Regionen verbreitet, also in den sehr warmen Gegenden nahe dem Äquator sowie in den warm-gemäßigten Zonen ungefähr zwischen 25 und 40 Grad nördlicher sowie südlicher Breite. Die Krankheit kommt in etwa 100 Ländern vor und betrifft alle Kontinente außer Australien.

Es gibt Malaria-Formen mit unterschiedlich schweren Krankheitsverläufen, wobei jede Variante von einem eigenen Plasmodien-Typ ausgelöst wird. Die Malaria tropica ist die gefährlichste Malaria-Art. Sie führt unbehandelt bei Reisenden aus Europa fast immer zum Tod. Entsprechend wichtig ist die Malaria-Prophylaxe (ärztliche Vorbeugungsmaßnahmen) vor einem Aufenthalt in einem Malaria-Risikogebiet.

Was sind Infektionskrankheiten?

Im folgenden Video erfahren Sie, wann Mediziner von einer Infektionskrankheit sprechen, durch welche Erreger Infektionskrankheiten ausgelöst und wie sie übertragen werden.

Welche Symptome treten bei Malaria auf?

Die Malaria beginnt mit Beschwerden wie Fieber, Kopf- und Gliederschmerzen, Durchfall sowie allgemeinem Krankheitsgefühl. Häufig werden solche Anzeichen als grippaler Infekt oder Magen-Darm-Infektion fehlinterpretiert.

Die Symptome der Malaria-Formen unterscheiden sich vor allem im zeitlichen Verlauf des Fiebers.

Malaria tropica

Die Zeit von der Infektion bis zum Auftreten von Symptomen (Inkubationszeit) beträgt bei der Malaria tropica meist zwischen 7 und 28 Tage, selten bis zu etwa 120 Tage. Bei Migranten aus Risikogebieten, die in ihrer Kindheit häufiger Malaria-Infektionen durchgemacht und so eine Teil-Immunität erworben haben, kann die Malaria tropica auch erst Jahre nach der Infektion auftreten.

Bei etwa drei Vierteln der Malariafälle, die in Deutschland auftreten, handelt es sich um eine Malaria tropica. Sie ist die gefährlichste Malaria-Verlaufsform und führt bei nichtimmunen Patientinnen und Patienten fast immer zum Tod. Reisende aus Deutschland sind in aller Regel nicht immun gegen eine schwere Verlaufsform der Malaria. Das auftretende Fieber hat keinen Fieber-Rhythmus wie bei anderen Malaria-Verlaufsformen.

Malaria tertiana

Die Malaria tertiana verläuft eher mild und gutartig. Ein typisches Symptom ist an- und absteigendes Fieber, das jeden dritten Tag auftritt. Hiervon leitet sich die Bezeichnung „tertiana“ ab.

Malaria quartana

Die Malaria quartana ist seltener als andere Malaria-Arten. Hier tritt das Fieber im 4-Tage-Rhythmus auf. „Quartana“ bedeutet so viel wie „Viertagewechselfieber“.

Knowlesi Malaria

Diese Malaria-Art kommt nur in Südostasien vor. Eine Knowlesi Malaria kann in ihrem Verlauf so schwer sein wie eine Malaria tropica.

Wichtig zu wissen: Wenn man sich in einem Malaria-Gebiet aufgehalten hat, sollte bei jeglichem Fieber – ob unregelmäßig oder periodisch auftretend – in jedem Fall eine Malaria-Diagnostik durchgeführt werden.

Was ist die Ursache von Malaria?

Die Ursache für Malaria sind einzellige Parasiten aus der Gattung der Plasmodien. Für die Malaria-Verlaufsformen sind verschiedene Plasmodien-Arten verantwortlich. Die Einzeller werden durch den Stich der weiblichen Anopheles-Mücke übertragen. Die Erreger der Malaria tertiana setzen sich in der Leber fest und können dort monatelang oder jahrelang „schlummern“, bevor es zu einem Ausbruch der Erkrankung mit Symptomen kommt.

Eine Ansteckung von Mensch zu Mensch ist nur über das Blut möglich und kommt extrem selten vor.

Welche Risikofaktoren gibt es für Malaria?

Grundsätzlich gehören Reisende aus Ländern wie Deutschland, in denen es keine Malaria außer mitgebrachte Erkrankungen gibt, zur Risikogruppe. Denn diese Menschen besitzen in aller Regel keine Immunität gegen eine schwere Verlaufsform der Malaria.

Schwangere

Schwangere sollten Reisen in Malaria-Gebiete auf die Zeit nach der Schwangerschaft verschieben. Eine medikamentöse Malaria-Prophylaxe (medikamentöser Schutz) während der Schwangerschaft ist schwierig. Bei keinem Medikament besteht die Gewissheit, dass die Einnahme für die Entwicklung des Kinds unbedenklich ist. Eine Malaria in der Schwangerschaft gefährdet Mutter und Kind in vielfältiger Weise.

Kinder

Etwa zwei Drittel der weltweiten Todesfälle aufgrund von Malaria betreffen Kinder unter 5 Jahren in den Endemiegebieten.

Wie häufig ist Malaria?

In bestimmten Risikogebieten tritt Malaria sehr häufig auf, in Deutschland kommt die Erkrankung praktisch nur bei Reiserückkehrern vor.

Weltweite Verbreitung

Die Malaria ist weltweit eine der bedeutendsten Infektionskrankheiten. Sie tritt in tropischen und subtropischen Regionen aller Kontinente – außer Australien – in etwa 100 Ländern auf. Etwa 40 Prozent der Weltbevölkerung lebt in Malaria-Endemiegebieten. Das sind Gebiete, in denen Malaria fortwährend gehäuft auftritt. In den Endemiegebieten erkranken etwa 220 Millionen Menschen pro Jahr.  

400.000 Menschen sterben jedes Jahr an Malaria, überwiegend in Afrika, Asien und Südamerika.

Weltweit sterben jährlich etwa 400.000 Menschen an Malaria, etwa zwei Drittel davon sind Kinder unter 5 Jahren. Malaria wird zu über 90 Prozent in Ländern Afrikas erworben, die Malariafälle in Asien und Südamerika sind in den letzten Jahren deutlich zurückgegangen. In den letzten Jahren sind auch vereinzelt Fälle von Malaria tertiana in Südeuropa aufgetreten, etwa in Spanien und Griechenland.

Deutschland

Patientinnen und Patienten aus Deutschland infizieren sich in aller Regel in einem Risikogebiet. In den letzten Jahren wurden hierzulande jährlich etwa 800 bis 1.000 Malaria-Erkrankungen erfasst. Jungen und Männer waren doppelt so häufig betroffen wie Mädchen und Frauen. Häufig sind Erkrankungen bei immigrierten Personen, die in Deutschland leben und sich beispielsweise für einen Urlaub in ihrem Geburtsland aufhielten.

Der größte Teil der Malaria-Erkrankungen wird aus afrikanischen Ländern importiert. Besonders viele Fälle treten nach Reisen in westafrikanische Länder und nach Kenia auf. Indien und Pakistan sind die wichtigsten Infektionsländer außerhalb Afrikas.

„Flughafen-Malaria“

Eine extrem seltene Infektionsweise außerhalb eines Verbreitungsgebiets ist die sogenannte Flughafen-Malaria. Die Übertragung erfolgt hierbei durch importierte Mücken entweder im Flugzeug, auf einem Flughafen oder in dessen unmittelbarer Umgebung. Bei der sogenannten Baggage-Malaria werden die Mücken im Gepäck von Flugreisenden importiert.

Wie verläuft Malaria?

Der Krankheitsverlauf der Malaria-Formen unterscheidet sich teilweise deutlich.

Er hängt vor allem davon ab:

  • ob die Patientin oder der Patient schon ein oder mehrere Male Malaria hatte und eine gewisse Immunität aufbauen konnte.
  • um welche Malaria-Form es sich handelt.

Malaria tropica

Die Malaria tropica ist die weitaus gefährlichste Malaria-Art. Häufige erste Anzeichen sind Abgeschlagenheit, Kopf- und Gliederschmerzen sowie unregelmäßige fieberhafte Temperaturen. Auch Durchfälle kommen häufig vor.

Es kann zu einer Vielzahl von Komplikationen kommen:

  • Befall des Gehirns (Zerebrale Malaria): Typische Symptome sind etwa Krampfanfälle und Bewusstseinstrübungen bis zum Koma.
  • akutes Nierenversagen
  • Beeinträchtigungen der Lunge
  • Vergrößerung der Milz (etwa 26 Prozent)
  • Vergrößerung der Leber (etwa 14 Prozent)
  • Kreislaufkollaps
  • Mangel an roten Blutkörperchen
  • Blutgerinnung in den Blutgefäßen mit anschließenden inneren Blutungen

Malaria tertiana

Die Malaria tertiana verläuft eher mild. Ein typisches Symptom ist an- und absteigendes Fieber, welches jeden dritten Tag auftritt. Es kommt zum Schüttelfrost, in dessen Verlauf das Fieber sehr schnell auf Werte um 40°C ansteigt. Nach einer 3- bis 4-stündigen Fieberdauer fällt die Temperatur abrupt unter starken Schweißausbrüchen wieder auf Normalwerte ab.

Malaria quartana

Die Malaria quartana ist seltener als die anderen Malaria-Arten. Ein typisches Symptom ist Fieber im 4-Tage-Rhythmus. Rückfälle können bis zu 40 Jahre nach der Erstinfektion auftreten.

Knowlesi Malaria

Ein charakteristisches Symptom sind tägliche Fieberschübe. Die Knowlesi Malaria kann auch schwer verlaufen, ähnlich einer Malaria tropica.

Wie kann man einer Malaria vorbeugen?

Da es noch keine Schutzimpfung gegen Malaria gibt, sind anderweitige vorbeugende Maßnahmen sehr wichtig. Personen, die sich in Malaria-Gebiete begeben, sollten vor Antritt der Reise unbedingt mit einer Ärztin oder einem Arzt über die erforderlichen Vorsorgemaßnahmen sprechen (Individualprophylaxe). Dazu zählen der Mückenschutz und die Einnahme von Medikamenten (sogenannte Chemoprophylaxe).

Malaria kann durch verschiedene Maßnahmen vorgebeugt werden: Mückennetz beim Schlafen, langärmlige und helle Kleidung, vorbeugende Medikamente einnehmen und Antimücken-Spray und -Creme.

Mückenschutz

Die Anopheles-Mücken sind ab Einbruch der Dämmerung aktiv. Folgende Schutzmaßnahmen werden empfohlen, wenn Sie in ein Malaria-Risikogebiet reisen:

  • Halten Sie sich nach Möglichkeit in moskitosicheren Räumen mit Klimaanlage und Fliegengitter auf.
  • Schlafen Sie unter Moskitonetzen, die am besten imprägniert mit insektenabtötenden Substanzen sind.
  • Tragen Sie im Freien entsprechende, gegebenenfalls imprägnierte Kleidung: also langärmlige Blusen und Hemden, lange Hosen und Socken von heller Farbe. Dunkle Farben ziehen die Mücken an.
  • Benutzen Sie Antimücken-Spray und Antimücken-Creme.

Vorbeugende Einnahme von Medikamenten (Chemoprophylaxe)

Welche Arzneimittel am besten geeignet sind, sollte vor der Reise individuell mit einer Ärztin oder einem Arzt besprochen werden. Die Medikamente werden in der Regel kurz vor Reisebeginn eingenommen, sie müssen während des Aufenthalts im Malariagebiet und bis nach der Rückkehr eingenommen werden.

Im Allgemeinen gilt:

  • Bei Reisen in ein Land mit hohem Übertragungspotenzial ist eine Chemoprophylaxe grundsätzlich empfehlenswert.
  • Bei Reisen in ein Land mit niedrigem oder mittlerem Malaria-Risiko ist eine Chemoprophylaxe in der Regel nicht erforderlich. Es kann hilfreich sein, ein Medikament zur notfallmäßigen Selbsttherapie mitzuführen.

Wenn keine Chemoprophylaxe erfolgt, sollte ein Reservemedikament mitgenommen werden, das bei malariaverdächtigen Symptomen und nicht erreichbarer ärztlicher Hilfe eingenommen werden kann. Dies ist jedoch nur eine Notfallmaßnahme bis zum Erreichen ärztlicher Hilfe. Ob und welche Reservemedikamente mitgenommen werden sollten, muss im Zuge der Reiseplanung mit der Ärztin oder dem Arzt besprochen werden.

Alle Details zur Medikamentenwahl sowie zur Dosierung bei Erwachsenen und Kindern finden Sie im elektronischen Sonderdruck: Malariaprophylaxe – Empfehlungen des Ständigen Ausschusses Reisemedizin (StAR) der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Tropenmedizin und Internationale Gesundheit e.V. (DTG).
Zum Dokument

Wie wird Malaria diagnostiziert?

Bei Verdacht auf Malaria muss unverzüglich eine Diagnostik eingeleitet werden, um zu sehen, ob Plasmodien im Blut vorhanden sind. Möglichst früh sollte der Plasmodien-Typ diagnostiziert werden, um

  • die jeweilige Malaria-Art zu bestimmen und damit
  • über die weitere Behandlung zu entscheiden.

Für die Diagnose wird eine Blutprobe benötigt. Die ursächlichen Parasiten werden mikroskopisch direkt im Blut nachgewiesen. Die Beurteilung erfordert viel Erfahrung, die oft nur bei spezialisierten Ärzten oder in tropenmedizinischen Institutionen vorhanden ist.

Auf der Internetseite der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Tropenmedizin und Globale Gesundheit e.V. finden Sie eine Liste mit Tropenmedizinischen Institutionen in Deutschland.

Wie wird Malaria behandelt?

Die Behandlung einer Malaria-Erkrankung richtet sich danach, welche Form der Malaria vorliegt. Die Therapie einer Malaria tropica sollte stationär und möglichst in einem Krankenhaus mit tropenmedizinischer Erfahrung und intensivmedizinischen Möglichkeiten erfolgen.

Malaria tropica und Knowlesi-Malaria

Die Therapie richtet sich

  • nach dem Schweregrad der Erkrankung und
  • einer eventuell zuvor durchgeführten medikamentösen Malaria-Prophylaxe.

Bei unkomplizierten Verlaufsformen der Malaria tropica und der Knowlesi-Malaria ohne lebensbedrohliche Symptome erfolgt die Behandlung medikamentös mit Präparaten, die zwei aufeinander abgestimmte Wirkstoffe enthalten.

Bei komplizierter Malaria tropica oder Knowlesi-Malaria mit lebensbedrohlichen Symptomen wie Bewusstseinstrübung oder Problemen mit dem Atmen muss die Patientin oder der Patient auf einer Intensivstation behandelt werden.

Malaria tertiana

Die Behandlung der Malaria tertiana erfolgt zum Teil mit den gleichen Medikamenten wie bei der Malaria tropica. Um einen Rückfall zu verhindern, muss in einer anschließenden Therapie noch ein weiteres Medikament eingenommen werden. 

Malaria quartana

Die Behandlung erfolgt mit dem Arzneistoff Chloroquin.

Geprüft durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Tropenmedizin, Reisemedizin und Globale Gesundheit (DTG). Stand:

Fanden Sie diesen Artikel hilfreich?